Diamonds Are a Girl’s Best Friend

Hey everyone! I’m a second year Communications major with a Spanish minor and I’m thinking about adding a Business minor as well. In addition to a full time student, I am a part of the UCSD Softball team. I have been around sports my whole life, in fact, in one of my baby pictures I’m laying in my crib surrounded by a football, a basketball, a soccer ball and a baseball. I love to sit on the couch and watch any game that’s on. Growing up I dabbled in several sporting activities from Softball (obviously), Soccer, Sailing, Gymnastics, Figure Skating, Horseback Riding, Surfing, and I ran the LA Marathon in 2012. Sports have been a huge part of my life and I hope to somehow incorporate sports into a career.

When I saw this course was being offered it was a no brainer for me to enroll. Being an athlete for almost my entire life I am well aware of the politics that are embedded within sports. While sports are a very popular source of entertainment there are definitely politics and conflicts that are easy to overlook. As a female athlete I have experienced for myself lots of politics within the sports community and I am excited to study power dynamics within our culture related to sports throughout this course.

I have chosen to study Softball. Although I have been playing the sport for 16 years now I believe that this project will provide me with some new perspective. As a college athlete, I always have something I’m working on. I have gained such a high respect for athletes throughout my life because playing a sport or participating in a sports activity is something that can never be perfected. Athletes are always striving to be better and working hard to gain new skills and abilities. It is my hope that through this project I am able to continue learning and gain some new perspectives on the sport that I love. Unknown

This entry was posted in Introduction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Diamonds Are a Girl’s Best Friend

  1. Sarah McCullough says:

    This project promises to give you a new perspective on something you know very well. I hope it complements your playing well!

Leave a Reply

