I’m Korean, and I’ll be talking about E-sports. Makes sense right?

Hello class! I’m currently a junior, pursuing a communication degree. I’m a huge fan of NBA, and I love studying statistics of players, as well as how businesses and competitions run in pro-scenery of basketball. I also love playing any types of sports that are out there. I won several dodge ball competitions held in my middle-school, competed in local archery tournaments out of state, and also learned how to ice-skate in Canada for a while. I’m excited to have you guys as part of our class to learn more about how different sports that we are pursuing (for our project) has an impact on the world of sports practice. But, what I will be going to study through this class is going to mind blow you all.

Recently, I had a chance to visit Korea over summer break, which is my hometown. In Korea, the genre of E-sports (Electronic Sports) is very popular. I have been a big fan of E-sports since I was young, and there has been sudden rise in popularity of E-sports all around the world, including America. I got a chance to visit one of stadiums in Korea, that’s created just for E-sports scenery. It was huge, and extra-ordinary compared to Angels stadium, or Staples center.

3 electronic games are now being considered as part of Olympics in 2020 including League of Legends, Starcraft and Counterstrike. There are also E-sports commentators (just like in typical sports), and separate Olympics for E-sports called WCG (World Cyber Games) that has been going on for 6 years. As a fan of E-sports, not only there are stereotypes on these type of “sports,” but there are possible researches I could potentially study on this topic of E-sports such as mediasport, and how it’s changing the world and potentially pushing the limit and legitimacy of sports.

league

This entry was posted in Introduction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Korean, and I’ll be talking about E-sports. Makes sense right?

  1. Sarah McCullough says:

    Wow! This brings the question of what constitutes the difference between mediasports and “sports” to a whole new level. Is there a particular E-sport that you will focus on? Do you see yourself as a participant (doing the e-sports), a spectator, or both? Looking forward to seeing this project evolve!

    • graceofgod9 says:

      It surely does! And there are so many potentials that this paper could cover on topic of E-sports!

      I will be writing specifically about Starcraft (has longest history of being part of E-sports). I was a participant of this sport since I was 6 years old and it also plays a role in me being a Korean because the term E-sport was popularized in Korea. I was pretty high up there in ranks before I decided to quit. I was also a spectator of this sport through Korean TV channel, because there is a separate TV broadcasting for Starcraft and through this I was able to learn from pros of this sport and spectate the games that were played through this channel, to get better at this game.

      As E-sport evolves, there are so much topics to touch upon the game of Starcraft because it was the first sports that was popularized through media and I could potentially write about how Starcraft plays a role in rapid popularity E-sport in current generation.

  2. Sarah McCullough says:

    I just got a tip on a book that might be helpful to you in this project: TL Taylor’s book Raising the Stakes: E-Sports and the Professionalization of Computer Gaming. Hope this is helpful!

Leave a Reply

