New Challenges Off the Field

Hi everyone, I’m a third year from San Francisco and am a huge SF Giants fan. My college is Revelle and my major is Communication. Sports, especially baseball and softball, are a huge part of my life as well as it having a huge impact on it. I began playing softball my sophomore year of high school and this experienced has confronted me with many challenges on and off the field. Having no prior experience, skill wise I was always a step behind the other girls. From this I learned perseverance and dedication because as I continued in my career, I made it to the starting line up and eventually captain. The opportunities softball has given me created a deep love for sports which makes me want to learn more about different aspects of sports outside the physical game.

This class is interesting to me because I find the politics, debates, and conflicts within any subject interesting. These issues give rise to the way we think and feel about things. This class combines my interest in these issues with my passion for sports. Being in this class I hope to learn more about the issues within different sports but also challenge myself to rethink my point of view of sports and culture.

The sport I chose to follow is softball. Even though it’s a sport I’ve played before, I want to try a new aspect of it. I’m going to volunteer with the Coastal Bay Softball League hopefully as a coach. I’ll either be working with their 6U, 8U, 10U, 12U, or 14U teams.This is a totally new area for me because I’ve never been the instructor but always the student. I’m excited and curious about what challenges and obstacles await.

This entry was posted in Introduction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Challenges Off the Field

  1. Sarah McCullough says:

    That’s so exciting to be crossing a threshold from student to teacher! It’s wonderful that you are contributing in this new way. This “crossing over” gives you a chance to think about the way the sport changes based on your position. It makes me think about the dynamics of youth sports, which could be an interesting way to approach the topic, if it attracts your attention. Of course, softball offers so many other areas for inquiry as well. I’m excited to see where it goes.

Leave a Reply

