Track & Field: The Ultimate Physical Test

Hi everyone!  My name is, I am a senior in Muir College.  I am a high jumper for the Track and Field team here at UCSD, and was recruited from El Camino College in Los Angeles.  During my 2nd year at ECC, I jumped 5 feet 7 inches, which made me the state leader throughout all California Junior Colleges!  Despite injury-related setbacks at UCSD, I plan to continue my career with hopes of becoming a world-class athlete.  Fun fact: My brother is a Track athlete as well, and competed in the finals heat of the Javelin throw at the 2012 Olympic Trials.  When I’m not jumping, I enjoy watching mostly Baseball (GO ANGELS!), and equestrian sports when they are on. 

I am interested in taking this class because of my love of sports, and am intrigued to learn about the significant ways they affect culture.  In my experience, I have always assumed sports more as hobbies than anything else.  On the first day of class, I started to already make connections about how sports are connected to a country’s culture, economy, and nationality.  I am excited to learn more! 

For my project I am researching Track and Field.  The thing about this sport that makes it different than any other sport is that it tests the limits of the human body.  These athletes, depending on their event, are put to the test to see how fast they can run, high they can jump, and far they can throw.  There is no goal except to push the body further.  It is a magnificent way to see how powerful the human body is, and how it can constantly be pushed to improve.  Track and Field is one of the oldest sports in history, and it will also be interesting to see how the sport has changed since the first Olympics to present day, and to see the course it will take in the future.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Track & Field: The Ultimate Physical Test

  1. Sarah McCullough says:

    Track and field has a quite intriguing history in the Olympics. For starters, look up the history of the 800m race for women (though be sure to find a good sources, as some tell the story more accurately than others). Another great example is high jump, which supposedly holds the only example of a man passing as a woman in competition (under Nazi Germany). We’ll say a bit about both of these questions in class. Good luck on recovering from your injury! I always enjoyed watching the high jumpers between races in high school and college.

Leave a Reply

