Two Worlds, One Cup

I am a third year ERC student majoring in communication and minoring in digital video and film production. As most kids, I played multiple sports including basketball, soccer, volleyball, baseball, judo and track. It was around the age of 10, when I joined club soccer that my true passion sparked. Growing up, I continued to play club soccer and school teams. I always planned on trying out for college soccer upon graduating high school, but as everyone knows, nothing ever goes as planned. My senior year of high school I suffered an ACL tear and was out for the season. After what seemed like a billion therapy sessions, my doctor delivered the bad news saying I was not going to be healed in time to try out. I spent my first year attending the soccer games and silently cursing myself for getting injured. Later that year, I began to play intramural soccer and realized that it was just as satisfactory. School team or not, having a chance to play again is enough for me.

As most of you, the title of this course grasped my attention. Who doesn’t want to take a class about sports? For the purposes of this class, I will be digging deeper into the politics of soccer. Soccer is a popular worldwide known sport. It is a category in the Olympics and it has its own sporting competition, the FIFA World Cup, held every four years. Being a worldwide sport, the game sometimes gets a bit personal especially if there is political tension between different nations. Take for example North and South Korea during the South Africa 2010 World Cup. North Korea announced that it would not let South Korea play its national anthem or wave their flag in their territory. The dispute amongst both teams failed to diminish that North Korea had their “home” game in Shanghai. This is just one of many political categories that soccer has to offer.

This entry was posted in Introduction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Worlds, One Cup

  1. Sarah McCullough says:

    Soccer/football is a quite interesting site for examining the politics of sport. Just the one example you give could be analyzed in great depth. It is a great example of how sport is never just about a game. It is constantly engaging world politics and power dynamics between nations. Thinking about specific examples in your project will be quite productive.

Leave a Reply

