Really? Ultimate Frisbee?

Hello everyone, I am a second year Communications major with a minor in Business. Sports has been a big part of my life ever since I was a little girl. I grew up watching baseball, football, basketball and golf with my family. My family and I are huge sports fans, more specifically we are die hard Laker, Dodger, and USC football fans. I also played softball in high school and when I was younger I played basketball and was a competitive swimmer.

This class naturally caught my eye when I was trying to figure out what classes to take this quarter because of my deep interest in sports. I think it is important to be aware of the cultural politics of sports and I am really interested and excited to learn about it.

My first year at UCSD I felt like there was something missing. I later came to realize that the emptiness I was feeling was because I was not playing softball or a sport in general. That is why this year I decided to join UCSD women’s ultimate frisbee club team. Ultimate frisbee is not really a popular sport. I did not even know it existed until last year. I did not know anything about ultimate frisbee, but I wanted to try something new. I no longer have that empty feeling and I’m excited to continue learning about this sport. I am also choosing to use ultimate frisbee as the sport for my project. Since I am still learning the sport, I think this sport would be perfect for me to use. I would be able to discuss what I am learning, the challenges that I face as well as the frustrations I encounter in great detail. I think that it will be great to do my project on a sport that I am still learning because I still have a fresh perspective and little experience, which I believe will keep my mind open for this project.

This entry was posted in Introduction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Really? Ultimate Frisbee?

  1. Sarah McCullough says:

    I’m glad that you were able to find an activity to fill that missing space after your first year. Ultimate frisbee is a quite interesting sport, and I’m excited to hear what you learn from it. Your previous experience with other sports will serve as a nice site for comparision.

Leave a Reply

